What a week!

Standard

First things first… WOO!!! Seosan for FIVE transfers! That’s SUPER long in my mission. Even four is long, but not unheard of. Sister Jensen and Sister Collyer from my MTC district are also in their Greenie areas for five transfers… so I’m not alone ^^ Five transfers in one area is also getting more and more common, but it was utterly unheard of in a greenie area! So we were a bit shocked… but there is also a rule that you can only be in the same area for five transfers. So… I’m definitely transferring next transfer. So wish me luck for 6 more weeks here!

On Monday Sister Deus and I woke up at 5:30 am! And we emailed at 6:30! (Super early because the Elders had to email also) Then we ate breakfast at a cafe and took a bus to Cheonan at 10am. I got to wear pants! 😛 On the bus we got our transfer calls. Elder Oehler is moving to Jungang!! A CITY!!! SO JEALOUS! He likes City better. But I secretly hoped that if I stayed, he would stay so I would have someone who knows what five transfers in Seosan is like… But nope. It’s all okay because now we have Elder Grigg!!! I don’t know him at all… We’ll miss you Elder Oehler!

Cheonan was a party! We went to a beautiful park and had subway sandwiches… TOTALLY AMERICAN!!! and I got to meet a couple new missionaries and make new friends. It was a super fun day! On Tuesday we had District meeting and I drew an AWESOME picture of all of us as FRUIT! The Korean sisters in HongSeong LOVED it… a bit too much 😛 But anyways it was a fun day. We ate at Shabu Holi (The amazing 2nd floor restaurant)
and had some nice last District meeting unity. Only 2 Elders left the district… Next transfer is up for some BIG change! Both HongSeong Sisters go home… so either a white wash, or closed (it’s too slow of work there) and I have to go, and Maybe Elder 조 and Maybe Dangjin Elders need to change to… So ALOT!!!!!!! CRAZINESS

Later that night we went, with a member, to our investigator Kim Do Yeon’s house and we gave each other massages and such. We also ate some delicious SamGaeTang (Chicken rice-y soup-y stew) together with our investigator’s husband!! First time meeting him ^^ And it was a blast! I basically got a facial… 😛

On Wednesday we went to DangJin really early. We have an investigator there who likes to meet at 11 in the morning. She was a referral from a member in GwangJu! She’s really sweet and has a cute little dog that I have found is the only dog that I think is cute as a baby AND as a grown dog… haha but I’m still allergic so no… Then we went to visit a member, but while we were out, Sister Deus lost her camera. It was a whole day busted and she’s really sad. She sent home her MTC and greenie pictures, but she lost all of her pictures with her companion before me… and I only have 70% of our pictures together… so a lot lost… she’s really sad. But she knows it will all be okay.

One of our new investigators is a 22 year old Yoo MinJi. She went to Middle school and high school in China and can speak fluent Korean, Mandarin, and English! She just got back from the UK about 2 weeks ago. The first thing I heard from her was “uh, yes hello hello. First may I go to the loo?” HAHAHA I forgot what British English sounds like… Shes so funny! and completely fluent. She is majoring in English literature, so she wants to keep up her English ^^ We plan on meeting with her 3 times a week!!!! She doesn’t know anyone here anymore… I love her!

HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!! As missionaries, we aren’t allowed to use fireworks… fireworks are also illegal in Korea if they aren’t done on the beach… TOO FAR so no fireworks 😦 All We got to do was sing songs from the English Hymn book that I have (luckily I have it at all) Our day was too full to do anything else. That day we also texted a lady that we met on the street. She called back to tell us that her father passed away the day before and that she wouldn’t have any time to meet for a while. We offered to help her anytime she needs something, and she said she would love for us to come to his funeral. So on Saturday we went to the funeral and talked to her daughter who is 14 and completely fluent in English because they lived in New Jersey and in Florida for about 7 years. We plan to meet with them sometime soon. We were able to talk to her and her daughter a lot at the funeral and they both seemed quite interested about the Gospel. We were able to give them a Book of Mormon and I could see their interest grow. I’m excited to see where that goes!

It’s been a crazy week, but I am grateful for the opportunity to continue to serve in Seosan, even though it’s longer than I would have thought. President Shin told me last Monday, that his reason for not transferring me is because he wants me to see a baptism and he thinks I can make a difference in growing this area. Seosan has grown much in the last 6 weeks, but I also know that it can grow more. I can see the potential and I want to witness it for myself. So pray for me and the people I am teaching. I know there is still a lot to be done!

Have a good week and Thank you to all who are reading this whole email!! I love you!!!!

– Sister Jenson 젠슨자매 (jen-seun ja-mae)

Leave a Reply

